Are you interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Michigan?
You’ve come to the right place. We hope this article acts as a valuable guide to help you understand the process of applying for your medical marijuana card. We keep this information up to date to make sure it is accurate and makes your journey as simple as possible. Keep reading to find out more.
Getting a Michigan Medical Marijuana Card Online with My Marijuana Card
In Michigan, telemedicine is open. Previously, a patient-physician partnership had to be formed in person to apply for a Michigan Medical Marijuana card. In light of Covid-19, this has now been relaxed in Michigan, as it has in several other jurisdictions. This ensures that My Marijuana Card will now include our telemedicine program to Michigan medical marijuana patients, and you can talk with one of our physicians online right now.
In Michigan, adult cannabis usage is legal. Having a medical marijuana card in the state of Michigan, on the other hand, helps you to obtain larger amounts and buy medicinal cannabis at a lower taxation cost. Obtaining a Michigan Medical Marijuana Card online with My Marijuana Card is convenient and easy. We’ve put together this helpful guide to address all of your questions and help residents of Michigan understand the value of applying for their Michigan MMJ Card.
Who Can Apply?
To apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Michigan, you must be a legal resident of the state of Michigan. Patients must be at least 18 years old to qualify for a medicinal marijuana card. Patients under the age of 18 must have a caregiver.
What Qualifies You As A Michigan Caregiver?
You must meet the requirements in the statutory definition of “caregiver” in MCL 333.26423(h). The Michigan Medical Marijuana Act (MMMA) can be found at www.michigan.gov/mmp
A person who is at least 21 years old and who has agreed to assist with a patient’s medical use of marijuana and who has not been convicted of any felony within the past 10 years and has never been convicted of a felony involving illegal drugs or a felony that is an assaultive crime.
How do I become a Michigan Caregiver?
A patient must submit one of the following to designate you as their caregiver:
- A complete Application Packet (if the patient is within 60 days of his or her registry card expiring OR the person is not a current patient with an active registry card)
- A complete Add or Change Caregiver Form (if the patient already has an active registry card)
Your valid state-issued driver’s license or personal identification card must be submitted with the patient’s Application Packet or Add or Change Caregiver Form.
Note: We will not accept an expired driver’s license or personal identification card. Caregivers may not hold any felonies including narcotics or threats and must not have been guilty of any felony in the last ten years. On behalf of the claimant, a court-appointed legal guardian or a Medical Durable Power of Attorney (MDPOA) with the authority to sign documentation and make medical decisions can apply.
The state of Michigan requires a Social Equity Program. The Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act (MRTMA) has a clause to facilitate and support interest in the marijuana industry by citizens from groups who have been negatively affected by marijuana legalization and compliance, with the aim of positively impacting those communities. It is important to note that if approved, you must register with the Michigan Marijuana Program.
Can I find out the status of my patient’s application if I contact the MMMP?
No. Due to the confidentiality requirements in the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act (MMMA), our staff can only speak with the applicant/patient regarding the status of his or her application. The MMMA can be found on our website at www.michigan.gov/mmp
What Does an MMJ Card Permit in Michigan?
Michigan-certified MMJ cardholders are permitted to possess up to 16 ounces of ‘marijuana-infused substance in a solid form.’ You are also able to transport up to 7 grams of ‘marijuana-infused substance in gaseous form’ and 36 fluid ounces of ‘marijuana-infused product in liquid form.’
Since recreational marijuana is legal in Michigan, anybody over the age of 21 can lawfully possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. An MMJ card, on the other hand, ensures access and lowers costs. Recreational weed may only be bought through state-licensed dispensaries. There are many dispensaries in several areas of the state.
How do I Apply For My Michigan Marijuana Card?
WithMy Marijuana Car, you can get your Michigan Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
Register online with My Marijuana Card and speak to a friendly Michigan physician. Get Your Michigan Medical Card
Book an appointment with a certified physician at My Marijuana Card.
Receive your certificate from My Marijuana Card
This will be emailed to you immediately after your successful appointment. You only need the PDF version to complete your Michigan Medical Marijuana Program application form.
They will approve or deny your application within 15 business days. As soon as you have the confirmation email, you can access medical marijuana.
What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in Michigan?
According to Michigan law in 2021, the following debilitating conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card in Michigan:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Cerebral Palsy
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Nail patella
- Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Severe nausea
- Spinal Cord Injury
- Tourette’s Disease
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe or chronic pain
- Seizures (including but not limited to those characteristics of epilepsy)
- Severe and Persistent Muscle Spasms (including but not limited to those characteristics of multiple sclerosis)
- Any other condition determined by your doctor and those considering your application to be acceptable for medical marijuana use
Note that this list is up to date as of May 2021. Legislation or the Commissioner of Health may add additional conditions, at which time, My Marijuana Card will update this list.
Get Your Michigan Medical Card
What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
To apply for your MMJ Card in Michigan, you will need to show your card, which provides proof of your condition as well as your identifying documents. You should gather the following:
- Valid ID, state ID, Driver’s License, Voter registration card
- One of the qualifying condition (which can be determined via My Marijuana Card physician)
How long does your Michigan Marijuana Card Last?
Once obtained, your Michigan marijuana card will last for two years.
Current Medical Marijuana Laws in Michigan
Possession of any quantity of weed without a legal medical marijuana card is a misdemeanor in Michigan, with up to 1-year of incarceration and/or a fine of up to $2,000. Use in a park can result in up to two years in prison and can be classified as a misdemeanor or felony.
Marijuana use will result in up to 90 days in prison and/or a $100 fine.
Sale without remuneration is often a misdemeanor and carries the same fines as ownership. For remuneration, the prison term may be up to four years and/or a $20,000 fine. A similar sentence is imposed for cultivating less than 20 plants without a legitimate MMJ card. If you grow 200 plants or more, you face 15 years in jail and/or a $10,000,000 fine. This is a substantial increase from the previous penalty of 7 years in jail and a $500,000 fee for between 20 and fewer than 200 plants.
Even if you have a legal medical marijuana card, you are not permitted to smoke marijuana in public or while operating an automobile. Hash and concentrates are subject to the same fines as alcoholic beverages.
The possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punished by a 90-day prison sentence and a $5,000 fine. Any arrest can result in a 6-month revocation of the driver’s license. To learn more about the Michigan Laws, click here.
Schedule a Consultation today!
Are you suffering from a debilitating medical condition, but don’t know if you qualify? Click Here to see if you may be eligible to obtain your own Medical Marijuana Card to treat your ailment with medical marijuana, which includes both THC and CBD products.
Click Here to learn more about what My Marijuana Card’s state-certified marijuana doctors can do for you, or give us a call at 877-783-1805 and our friendly patient coordinators will set an appointment and walk you through the process of receiving your own Medical Marijuana card. Get your Michigan marijuana card today online!