Step 1 – Consult with a certified medical marijuana doctor in Arkansas, either in person or online.
Step 2 – Register with the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH)
Step 3 – Apply to the ADH online or by mail and pay the $50 application fee.
Step 4 – Print or get your ADH medical marijuana card sent to you and visit an Arkansas dispensary!
A physician must be licensed and in good standing in the state of Arkansas in order to certify you for medicinal marijuana. Telemedicine visits are accessible and encouraged in Arkansas because to the COVID-19 epidemic.
You will be required to fill out an application. This may be done online or by mail. It is best to do your research online. However, if you want to send one in, the patient application form may be found here.
When your application is complete, you must pay the $50.00 application cost using a debit or credit card (American Express is not accepted). There are no refunds for any payments.
You will need the following items:
Minors may become cannabis patients in Arkansas if they receive written permission from their parent/guardian. Minors are not permitted to acquire a cultivation ID card.
To be eligible for an AR patient ID card, you must:
You’ll be able to visit an Arkansas dispensary after you’ve obtained your MMJ ID card. Remember that your cannabis must be labeled from an Arkansas dispensary in order to be protected under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act.
Assume you need someone to pick up your medicinal marijuana for you. In such scenario, you may appoint a caregiver (friend, family member, etc.) to make the purchase on your behalf. They must be Arkansas residents over the age of 21 and pass a background check.
Have a current diagnosis and documented physician certification for one of the qualifying conditions listed below:
In Arkansas, registered patients and their caregivers are not permitted to cultivate cannabis. There is, however, a little-known clause to consider. A Hardship Cultivation Certificate may be obtained from the Department of Health. If you hold this certificate, you may cultivate marijuana in Arkansas.
You must, however, reside more than 20 miles from a non-profit marijuana treatment facility. There is currently very little information accessible about this procedure.
The application price for an MMJ card at the ADH is $50, which is nonrefundable. The cost of a doctor’s consultation ranges from $120 to $260. If you are one of their ‘established’ patients, doctors usually charge $150 or less. Some providers may additionally charge a follow-up fee of $100.
Renewal of your card costs $50 and should be done at least 30 days before it expires. An MMJ card in Arkansas is valid for a year OR the amount of time specified by the doctor.
A background check costs $37 if you are a caregiver. If the caregiver is the legal guardian or parent of an MMJ patient aged 17 or younger, this cost is waived.
No, medicinal marijuana or associated costs are usually not covered by insurance providers.
Arkansas’ medicinal marijuana program has been gradually expanding since the first shop debuted in 2019. As of now, there are no recreational dispensaries in Arkansas since recreational marijuana is still illegal across the state. Nonetheless, Arkansas established 20 medical dispensaries in 2019 for anybody with a valid Arkansas medical card. To enter one of these state-licensed dispensaries, a patient must ensure they bring their state-issued ID as well as their state-issued medical marijuana card.
The delivery of medicinal marijuana is legal in the state of Arkansas. As a result of the coronavirus epidemic, several dispensaries started providing delivery in order to limit the virus’s spread. The delivery service is well-established, having been in operation since August of 2019.
It’s worth noting that Arkansas’ 32 medicinal marijuana shops shut significantly sooner than other states. Although there is no legislation prohibiting dispensaries from remaining open late, many have chosen to shut at 6:00 p.m. There are no dispensaries operating beyond 8:00 p.m., and some shut as early as 4:00 p.m. Because shop hours vary so considerably, double-check the closing time on your preferred dispensary’s website.
Medical marijuana users and caregivers are permitted to buy up to 4 ounces of marijuana or marijuana-related goods every 30 days. Patients are not permitted to use more than 4 ounces of marijuana per month unless authorized by two separate doctors. However, 4 ounces per month is very liberal, and we don’t believe these restrictions will prevent patients from buying marijuana products.
If a patient does not need an in-person visit, a physician may perform a telemedicine assessment to establish if the patient is eligible for medicinal marijuana usage. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification needs a handwritten signature. Telemedicine doctors in Arkansas must follow the state’s current telemedicine laws.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors are accessible in Arkansas for both in-person and virtual appointments. AR citizens will be able to qualify for medicinal marijuana from the comfort of their own homes.
Marijuana is only legal for Arkansas medical marijuana cardholders at this time.