Surprise! You do not need a medical card, as in other jurisdictions, but you must go through a procedure in order to obtain the extremely restricted medicinal cannabis available in Texas.
Step 1 — Register to Qualify for Low-THC Medical Cannabis
Step 2 — Get a Medical Cannabis Doctor
Step 3 — Visit a Dispensary
Join the CURT Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT). CURT is a system that enables physicians registered with the texas medical board to register and prescribe low-THC cannabis to patients. You must be a permanent resident of Texas to qualify for low-THC medicinal cannabis. Texas Occupations Code 169.001 defines “medical use” as intake other than smoking. CURT allows dispensing companies to search for patients and distribute medicine per prescription.
Talk to our doctor! Your doctor will register you with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas if cannabis is appropriate for you (CURT). Patients do not need a paper prescription since the physician enters it into CURT. Texas doesn’t provide medical ID cards.
Unless your doctor thinks your online assessment failed to qualify you for medicinal cannabis, the first evaluation appointment is $150. To buy medication, you need a valid ID and the last five digits of your SSN.
Get to the dispensary! It is that simple in Texas. Currently, Texas has medical marijuana dispensaries operating.
Low-THC cannabis may be recommended if:
Prescriptions have no age restriction. Legal guardian required for minors.
Patients under the age of 18 will require a parent or legal guardian to acquire medicinal cannabis.
Patients on the register may buy and use medicinal cannabis if they fulfill the following criteria:
In Texas, any marijuana product with 0.3 percent THC or higher is prohibited. However, marijuana products with less than 0.3 percent THC are permitted. This includes hemp and CBD. Hemp is currently in lotions, ointments, and tablets. CBD has comparable goods.
To renew your Texas medical marijuana identification card, you must wait a year.
To get Texas medicinal marijuana, you must have one of the qualifying illnesses. In order to get access to medicinal cannabis, there are the following conditions:
No marijuana is permitted to be grown in Texas. Even if it is hemp, it must be purchased at a dispensary. Growing is not permitted in Texas since it is still prohibited. Growing marijuana in Texas can ruin your record and get you in big trouble. Now that you know where to get marijuana in Texas, we’ll keep you informed if the laws change.
No, Texas law prohibits medicinal marijuana patients from growing marijuana at home. All medicinal marijuana must be bought from a state-approved dispensary.
Some physicians demand excessive fees simply for a first visit. After receiving a medical marijuana recommendation from a qualified doctor, you must submit an application to the Texas Department of Health along with a $75 processing fee.
Please contact your insurance company or Medicaid for a response. Currently, we are unaware of any insurance companies that cover medicinal marijuana.
After hemp was legalized, the market expanded, and people all around bought hemp goods. Since hemp is not regulated by law, it is unknown how many dispensaries sell it, although there has been an increase. No other marijuana product may be bought at a store except hemp and CBD oil.
In Texas, marijuana delivery is illegal. Even hemp or CBD oil must be bought in person. However, law enforcement and legislators are battling to police hemp and CBD products. So, how will this change in the future? Stay tuned for updates.
Since selling hemp or CBD requires no licensing or registration, businesses may remain open as long as they wish. Not all businesses offer CBD or hemp, although it is available in many health and wellness shops. Always verify shop hours before going to buy hemp or CBD.
It seems Texas legislators considered logistics when passing legislation to allow hemp and CBD products having less than 0.3 percent THC. No indication of how much hemp or THC may be sold or bought. So there is no purchase limitation.
If a patient cannot make an in-person visit, a physician may perform a telemedicine exam to establish eligibility for medicinal marijuana. Note that the certification needs a handwritten signature. Texas telemedicine laws must be followed by telemedicine doctors.
Of course, in Texas, doctors who specialize in medicinal marijuana are allowed to see patients in-person and through videoconferencing. Allowing people of Texas to get medicinal marijuana without having to go to a medical marijuana facility from the privacy of their own homes.
Look no further; schedule an appointment with one of our caring medical marijuana doctors and get your medical marijuana card now from the comfort of your own home.