Step 1– Consult with your approved physician, either online or in person.
Step 2– Fill out an online application through the Colorado Medical Marijuana Program (CMMP)
Step 3– Pay the fees and await approval.
Step 4– Get your card and go shopping!
First and above all else, if you want a Colorado medical marijuana card, you must find an approved physician to assist you in obtaining one. These doctors will then assess whether you have at least one of the qualifying conditions listed in the state program. They will then fill out a physician’s certification for you, which is required as part of the MMJ application process.
During the consultation, the doctor will review your medical records and ask you a few questions. The goal is to determine whether you are a viable candidate for MMJ.
Then, create an online account and apply for your card online. You will do this through the website of Colorado’s Department of Public Health and Environment. Check that you can easily make a copy of your physician’s certification to send in with your application.
Don’t worry if you don’t have access to the Internet or a computer! The state provides mail-in options specifically for you. However, it will take a few weeks longer than if you completed it online.
Register for a registry account at the Colorado Department of Health and Environment.
Obtain a doctor’s recommendation.
To establish residency, you must provide a valid Colorado driver’s license or ID.
If applicable, designate a caregiver and provide a valid caregiver registration ID.
Indicate whether or not the plant is in cultivation.
Pay a $25 fee for a Medical Marijuana Registry Identification Card.
Applicants under the age of 17 must have two doctors diagnose them with a debilitating medical condition. At least one of these doctors must explain the risks and benefits of medical marijuana to the applicant and his or her parents, who must live in Colorado. Both parents must provide written consent to the use of cannabis, and one parent must apply in writing to serve as a caregiver.
To obtain a Colorado medical card, you must be at least 18 years old, a resident of the state, and were given a diagnosis including at least one of the state’s qualifying medical conditions.
Infused edibles, including THC beverages
Your Colorado MMJ card application will be approved in a matter of days, and you will receive a virtual copy of your MMJ card. If you completed the process by mail, you should receive your physical card in the mail 6-8 weeks later. It’s now time to visit one of Colorado’s hundreds of medical dispensaries.
A Colorado medical marijuana card is valid for a year (1 year).
The following are the qualifying medical conditions for obtaining a medical marijuana card in Colorado:
AIDS (Positive Status)
HIV (Positive Status)
Persistent muscle spasms
Adults and eligible patients (or their caregivers) each may grow or possess a maximum of six cannabis plants, three of which must be in the flowering stage, for a total of 12 plants on a primary residence, despite the number of adults or patients residing there.
Caregivers are required to provide certain locations of each cannabis cultivation site as well as the registration number of each patient they serve. If a patient qualifies for additional plants, those plants, as well as the patient registry numbers associated with them, must be registered with the CDOR. The specific laws governing cultivation and patient plant counts differ from city to city and county to county.
In Colorado, the application fee for an MMJ card is $25, and the renewal fee is $25. If your household income is 185 percent or less of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, the fee is waived. You must fill out a specific form. Colorado has some of the smallest consultation fees in the country. You should expect to pay between $60 and $100 on average.
No, medical marijuana or related expenses are typically not covered by insurance companies.
Travelers and non-residents were limited to 7 grams of marijuana per day before Proposition 64 was first passed in the state. This law was changed in June 2016, and tourists and residents can now purchase up to 28 grams at any retail location. A person must be 21 or older and have a valid, government-issued form of identification in order to purchase recreational marijuana in the state. Residents between the ages of 18 and 21 who have a valid physician’s suggestions and ID can purchase medical marijuana.
Around 175 of Colorado’s 272 cities and counties have legalized the sale of legal cannabis. With marijuana search directories now just a click away, finding a registered vendor that meets your needs is easier than ever. Remember that anyone wishing to enter a marijuana retailer must have a government-issued ID. To buy recreational marijuana, you must be 21 or older.
Marijuana, like your favorite pizza place, will soon be legally available for delivery right to your door. The recent passage of HB 19-1234 in the Colorado legislature legalized marijuana delivery in the state. Medical marijuana delivery services are expected to begin in 2020, followed by recreational marijuana delivery services in 2021.
The state requires stores to open between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 a.m. (MST), but each city government has its own set of rules. Keeping track of dispensary hours in Colorado can be difficult, so check online before making the trip.
Colorado dispensary closing times by city:
Denver: 10 pm
Glendale: 12 am
Edgewater: 12 am
Aurora: 10 pm
Boulder: 10 pm
Fort Collins: 8 pm
While the laws regarding purchasing limits for marijuana legalization remain unchanged, they have recently changed for recreational users. A licensed retailer may still sell up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of flower to customers. Nonetheless, they can no longer purchase the same quantity of solvents or edibles. The Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) defined in 2016 that concentrates and edibles are not THC equivalent to flower and must be sold differently. The MED has issued ‘Marijuana Equivalency’ standards, which establish guidelines for purchasing limits on concentrates and edibles.
The conversions are as follows:
28 grams of marijuana flower = 800 mg of edibles
28 grams of marijuana flower = 8 grams of concentrates
Medical marijuana patients in Colorado can still buy up to 2 ounces of marijuana products from any licensed medical marijuana dispensary. Customers can still purchase multiple products at the same time, but the combined total is limited to 1 ounce. You can, for example, purchase 4 grams of concentrates and 12 ounces of marijuana at the same time. While this new system is somewhat perplexing, most budtenders will assist you in navigating the purchasing process. Finding a helpful, informative dispensary is a great way to ensure you stay safe and legal while purchasing marijuana in Colorado.
If a patient does not require an in-person consultation, a physician can conduct a telemedicine exam to determine whether the patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Physicians should be aware, however, that the qualification requires a written by hand signature. Telemedicine physicians in Colorado must follow Colorado’s existing telemedicine regulations.
If a patient does not necessitate an in-person appointment, a physician can conduct a telemedicine exam to determine whether the patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Practitioners need to be aware, however, that the qualification requires a written by hand signature. Telemedicine physicians in Colorado must follow Colorado’s existing telemedicine regulations.