My Marijuanacards Reviews 5 Star Google Verified Reviews (1,190+)
1 (877) 783-1805 - Appointments Available Daily

How to Get A Medical Marijuana Card in North Carolina?

Get Your North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Online

Join the almost 20,000 patients who have made My Marijuana Cards their medical cannabis physicians of choice. 99% acceptance record and money-back promise that is unconditional! Complete the form below.


1,000+ Google-Verified, 5-Star Patient Reviews

You Can't Spell
Healthcare without THC!
See why so many across the USA
choose My Marijuana Cards!

1. Book Appointment

Schedule an appointment to be evaluated for your North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card by clicking on the widget above. We provide same-day appointments, which means our doctor may see you within 15 minutes of arranging your appointment!  Appointments can be booked the same day by either filling out any of the forms on this page or calling us at 1 (877)783-1805. This means our doctor may see you within 15 minutes of arranging your appointment.

2. Fill Out Intake Forms

Immediately after booking your appointment. You will be prompted to fill out your digital intake forms. These forms take 5 minutes to fill out and are required before your doctor's appointment.

3. Talk with Doctor

During a brief 10–15-minute examination, our doctor will evaluate whether or not you are eligible to get a medical card in North Carolina. 

4. My Marijuana Card

Once approved by the physician, you'll have to complete the application with the state. The state will mail you your NC medical card.

How Would You Apply for a North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card?

Very similarly to our other states’ programs, you would:

 Latest Update on Medical Marijuana
in North Carolina

In 1977, North Carolina effectively decriminalized the possession of up to half an ounce of weed, with the penalty reduced to a small fine. Since then, however, attempts to legalize MMJ have failed. Until recently, there has been virtually no progress in these efforts either. A medical marijuana bill introduced in May 2014 made it as far as the House Committee in March 2015, where it died.

In 2023, both North and South Carolina introduced Compassionated Care Acts 0r Medical Marijuana Bills in their respective senates.  Ca, the Compassionate Care Act (Senate Bill 711) was introduced in the Senate. If approved by the senate and the governor this would establish a medical cannabis program in North Carolina. 

We will continue to update our material as new information becomes available. Still, the best way to ensure that you are kept up to date is to sign up for our North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card waitlist.

Requirements for Medical Marijuana Cards in North Carolina 

Age & Residency Requirements

In order to qualify for a North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card so you can legally purchase medical marijuana from one of the dispensaries once they are open, we expect that the qualifications will be similar to the following: Be 18 years of age or older Patients under 18 years of age must have parental consent Have a current diagnosis of a qualifying condition Hold an official written certification from a physician Be a resident of North Carolina with proof of residency (valid driver's license or state ID card)

As of now, only intractably epilepsy qualifies patients for medicinal marijuana in North Carolina, but we expect that once the program develops, these conditions will be added:

Medical Documentation

The following will be required when submitting your application:

• The application form

• The completed Physician Written Certification

• Photocopy of your North Carolina issued driver’s license or state ID (please be aware that your name and address on your application form must match what is listed on your North Carolina driver’s license or ID)

• The application fee

Doctors Appointment

Once medical marijuana is legalized in North Carolina, you will be eligible to use cannabis for treatment if you suffer from one of the qualifying conditions. Before you can enter dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana products, you will need a North Carolina medical marijuana card. The easiest way to obtain a North Carolina marijuana card will be to schedule your evaluation appointment with us.

​When medical marijuana is legalized, our friendly support staff will carefully walk you through the entire process, from helping you collect your medical records before your appointment to submitting your recommendation to the State Board of Pharmacy after the appointment.

​If you live with a qualifying condition, you will need to schedule an appointment with a certified medical marijuana doctor to obtain your North Carolina marijuana card. At the appointment, you and the doctor will discuss your medical condition(s) and treatment history. You must obtain medical records before your visit that support your qualifying condition.

If your North Carolina Medical Marijuana Doctor is able to confirm your qualifying condition and believes medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment option, you will receive a signed certification from the North Carolina Marijuana Doctor recommending medical marijuana products as part of your treatment plan.

This signed recommendation will then be submitted to the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services along with an annual registration fee. You will be responsible for the state’s registration fee. Once you have paid your fee and the state has received your Marijuana Doctor’s certification, you will be entered into the patient registry. After your submission, you will receive your North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card in the mail (or via email).

Join our Waitlist and receive all the latest updates on North Carolina’s Medical Marijuana Program

Questions North Carolinians want to know about the Medical Cannabis Program Process to get certified for an North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card 

Once medical marijuana is legalized in North Carolina, you will be able to get approved for medical marijuana treatment from the comfort and safety of your own home! By meeting with a North Carolina doctor through telemedicine, you will be able to get approved on the same day.

What our North Carolina Physician wants you to know about obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card

Why Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in North Carolina?

Therapy that works If you presently suffer from one or more of the qualifying ailments, we highly advise that once medical marijuana is allowed, you begin your treatment regimen under the supervision of a physician who has the expertise, compassion, and confidence in cannabis’s therapeutic properties. All of our physicians at My Marijuana Card are not only licensed by the state of North Carolina, but have also completed extra continuing medical cannabis education courses to ensure that they have important and up-to-date knowledge on the medicinal advantages of medical marijuana.

Access to Dispensaries

To assure consistency, purity, and potency, as well as legal protection, medical marijuana products should be obtained from a North Carolina registered dispensary as soon as they open.

With your North Carolina medical marijuana card in hand, you’ll be able to visit all North Carolina shops and legally buy cannabis. These state-licensed marijuana shops will sell a variety of medicinal marijuana strains with varied concentrations and potencies. Products like as tinctures, oils, creams, and even plant material for vaporizers, as well as consumables, will be available.

We will have additional information on the goods that will be available at dispensaries once medicinal marijuana is allowed in North Carolina. We will keep you informed as additional information becomes available!

Legal Defense

Your North Carolina Marijuana Card will make it simple to show law authorities that you have registered with North Carolina’s Medical Marijuana Control Program and are therefore authorized to possess, transport, and consume medicinal marijuana products.

Access to Other States

A North Carolina Marijuana Card grants you access to all dispensaries in the state. That is a given, but you may end up receiving more value than you anticipated. Several states that currently have medicinal marijuana laws in place provide reciprocity with their programs. This implies that your North Carolina marijuana card will enable you to buy marijuana in states with identical regulations. We will also keep you informed on this information!

Group

North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Appointment

With My Marijuana Cards’, getting your Medical Marijuana Card is now easier than ever. To arrange your Medical Marijuana Card appointment, please fill out the form provided below.

What are the 4 steps needed to obtain your marijuana card in North Carolina?

Step 1 – Schedule an appointment with a North Carolina Medical Marijuana Doctor.

Step 1

Schedule your appointment with a certified North Carolina Medical Marijuana Doctor

Step 2

Complete your Digital intake forms

Step 3

Conduct your NC MMJ Card appointment with the doctor!

Step 3

Get Your NC MMJ Card and start purchasing Cannabis legally!

RESERVE AN APPOINTMENT. BY COMPLETING THE CONTACT FORM, RECEIVE $25 OFF YOUR FIRST EVALUATION. WE'LL CONTACT YOU AS SOON AS WE BEGIN SEEING PATIENTS.


download

An MMJ program in North Carolina will be virtually universal. In North Carolina, you must be 18 years old. Make an appointment with a state-licensed doctor. They will inquire about your health.

The current law says the doctor must verify that you have a qualifying medical condition. They must also determine that conventional therapy and treatments have failed to help.

Step 2 – fill out our Digital Intake Forms

  • Fill out our patient intake form. 
  • Open your email: Your digital intake forms are sent to you Immediately after booking ( Check Spam/ Junk Folder)

Step 3 – Get Evaluated

  • The provider will review your medical history to see if you qualify for a North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card.
  • If you qualify the provider will certify and input you into North Carolina Department of Human Health and Services (DHHS) medical marijuana patient registry. 

Step 4 – Receive Your North Carolina MMJ Card & Start Purchasing Cannabis!

  • Pay your state registration after the provider has approved you.
  • Wait for your medical cannabis card to arrive by mail or digitally. At this time we do not know if the state will administer physical or cannabis digital cards.
  • Start shopping any of North Carolina’s licensed medical cannabis dispensaries.
Group

find the nearest North Carolina Dispensary Near you!

My Marijuana Cards has compiled a whole list of  North  Carolina Dispensaries and their contact information. Click the button below to locate a the nearest North Carolina Dispensary near to you. 

We are the most trusted medical weed card provider (NEW MMJ CARDHOLDERS AND MMJ CARD RENEWALS WELCOME!)

Medical Marijauna
Patients Served to date
0

There are relatively few NC medical marijuana card qualifying conditions as per SB 711. They include:

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • PTSD (in some cases)
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • ALS
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Severe or persistent nausea that’s related to hospice or end-of-life care

The Medical Cannabis Advisory Board created by SB 711 would have the power to add further medical conditions to the list.

The North Carolina MMJ card would be valid for one year. At this stage, patients would need to reapply by receiving certification from a licensed physician again. The DHHS must approve or deny a renewal within 45 days of receiving the application.

It is unlikely that the North Carolina medical marijuana program would permit online doctor’s consultations initially.

It is unlikely that the North Carolina medical marijuana program would permit online doctor’s consultations initially.

Look no further, visit one of our caring medical marijuana doctors and obtain your card now.

The passing of the Compassionate Care Act in the North Carolina Senate in July 2022 could finally legalize medical marijuana in the state. Certainly, SB 711, in its current form, is restrictive compared to many other MMJ programs in the United States. Nonetheless, if it were to pass, it would represent a gargantuan step in the right direction as far as marijuana advocates are concerned.

To join our waitlist, fill out one of the contact forms above or below. We will notify you once we begin taking NC Medical Card appointments.

To get evaluated, you’ll need a valid picture ID and, if feasible, documentation of your medical condition, such as medical documents or a note from your doctor.

You may still obtain certification without medical records! Call or text us at (877)783-1805 so we can get you an appointment with a doctor who can diagnose and then certify. The diagnosis is free.

It is unclear what the medical marijuana card cost in NC would be. However, SB 711 caps the price at $50. Patients could expect to pay between $150 and $250 for the doctor’s consultation.

Only a registered medical marijuana doctor can assess your eligibility. Thus we can’t guarantee it. If our doctor does not approve you, you will get a FULL refund! Our knowledgeable and courteous support team is available to help you prepare for your appointment, so you have the highest chance of approval.

Our patient care professionals will evaluate you, analyze your medical records, and review your medical history. We will also save your records and offer follow-up treatment. Appointments are usually 10–15 min.

You can fax your records to (419)237-7118), or you can have them emailed to info@mymarijuanacards.com.

No, Applicants must be certified by a doctor who has a valid North Carolina medical license and is registered with the state.

Many veterans in North Carolina are excited at the prospect of medical marijuana becoming legal. PTSD is a qualifying condition if the patient can show evidence that they experienced at least one traumatic event, such as an issue suffered while on active military service.

The Compassionate Care Act SB 711 allows minors to use MMJ via a non-inhalation method with the consent and care of a parent or legal guardian.

Caregivers help medicinal marijuana patients (including minors) who cannot or do not want to go to a dispensary to buy their medicine. Patients may designate caregivers who must be 21 or older and registered with the state. A caregiver may buy medicinal marijuana for a patient and assist in administering it.

The Compassionate Care Act states that MMJ patients can have caregivers. However, such individuals must be 21+ unless they are the parent/legal guardian of the qualifying patient. MMJ patients may name a maximum of two caregivers. Once approved, caregivers will receive a registry ID card.

 

The Compassionate Care Act states that MMJ patients can have caregivers. However, such individuals must be 21+ unless they are the parent/legal guardian of the qualifying patient. MMJ patients may name a maximum of two caregivers. Once approved, caregivers will receive a registry ID card.

 

No, insurance companies do not pay medicinal marijuana expenditures due to federal legal problems.

Legal patients may get medicinal marijuana from any state-licensed dispensary. They may also use their card in states that reciprocate.

The bill would permit MMJ patients to possess a 30-day supply as determined by their doctors.

According to SB 711, medical marijuana cardholders could buy smokable marijuana and cannabis infused products.

No, There is no indication that SB 711 would allow MMJ cardholders to grow marijuana at home.

No, HIPAA protects you as a medical patient. My Marijuana Cards values our patients’ privacy and security. Nobody will know unless you tell them or until you take a drug test for marijuana.

Medicinal marijuana patients are protected. Patients do not have to reveal their medicinal marijuana status or submit to a search. If a search turns up medicinal marijuana, the patient should provide their ID card or refer the officer to the state database to prove they are an authorized patient.

No. It is illegal to bring marijuana across state lines as it is a federally prohibited substance. Also, whether the NC medical marijuana program would allow reciprocity is unknown.

 

No, not at this time. North Carolina and South Carolina have not established a reciprocity law for medical marijuana card holders between states.

Yes! You need not visit the same doctor every year. My Marijuana Cards would gladly certify you if you were certified by another medical marijuana doctor last year.

At this stage, patients would need to reapply by receiving certification from a licensed physician again. The DHHS must approve or deny a renewal within 45 days of receiving the application.

There is no indication that SB 711 would allow MMJ cardholders to grow marijuana at home.

It is unclear what the medical marijuana card cost in NC would be. However, SB 711 caps the price at $50. Patients could expect to pay between $150 and $250 for the doctor’s consultation.

Medical marijuana and associated costs are seldom covered by insurance.

Currently, marijuana cannot be purchased in North Carolina until the bill is passed. 

To apply for a medical marijuana card in NC, you would need to be 18+ and a state resident.

If the bill passes into law, it will create a system with licensed marijuana producers, distributors, and two regulatory boards. North Carolina would create a Medical Cannabis Production Commission to issue ten supplier licenses. Each licensee would be permitted to open four dispensaries. In theory, this means NC could have up to 40 MMJ dispensaries.

DISCLAIMER: ALTHOUGH WE DO NOT OPERATE IN THIS STATE; WE DO PROVIDE SERVICES IN MICHIGAN AND OHIO.

Get Your North Carolina Medical Marijuana Card Online

Join the almost 20,000 patients who have made My Marijuana Cards their medical cannabis physicians of choice. 99% acceptance record and money-back promise that is unconditional! Complete the form below.


Medical Marijuana Blogs

As Featured IN