Step 1 – Consult with a qualified physician.
Step 2 – Obtain a recommendation for medical cannabis.
Step 3 – Apply online to the Oregon Health Authority’s Medical Marijuana Program
Step 4 – Obtain your card and begin shopping!
Obtaining an Oregon medical marijuana card requires a physician evaluation. This doctor must be an M.D. or O.D. (DO).
After an evaluation, your doctor will decide if you qualify for medical cannabis. If you do, you’ll get a doctor’s recommendation for your MMJ card application.
Once you have your recommendation, visit the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) website. The website will walk you through the application process and explain what documents (like proof of residency and identification) are required.
Lastly, pay the $200 application fee and submit your application.
Only those over 18 can apply ‘typically’. A parent or guardian must sign a Minor Declaration Form for minors.
Who is eligible for Oregon medical marijuana? Any resident of the state who has been diagnosed with one or more qualifying medical conditions may participate in the program.
An email with a receipt will be sent to you once your application has been approved. This receipt can be used as your Oregon MMJ card for 30 days while you wait for your card to arrive. And then you can start shopping for medical cannabis in Oregon.
A 12-month Oregon medical marijuana card (1 year).
The following medical conditions qualify for an Oregon MMJ card:
Marijuana plants can be grown by adults aged 21 and up at home or on private property. Check with your landlord first, as they have the right to restrict cannabis use and cultivate on their properties.
It is mandatory for patients to provide the OMMP with the name and address of their grower. The patient may then grow six mature plants and twelve immature plants.
A MMJ card in Oregon costs $200 to apply for and $200 to renew annually. The card is good for one year. When using Food Stamps or the Oregon Health Plan, the cost is $50. For example, if you served in the US military or receive SSI, you may be eligible for a VA pension. It’s only $20 then.
Replacement of an MMJ card costs $100. If you cultivate for someone else, there is a $200 grow site registration fee. Application for grower status is subject to a criminal background check. If you:
Medical marijuana and related expenses are rarely covered by insurance.
Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Oregon, making it simple to buy pot. More details below! The state also has lax purchasing laws.
Or you must be a registered medical marijuana patient, designated caregiver, or an adult over the age of 21. Your state-issued ID, such as a driver’s license, must be presented at the time of purchase. A trip to a new dispensary in Oregon should be researched first.
In Oregon, marijuana delivery services are available to medical patients, caregivers, and adults over 21. Portland was allowed to join the program in 2016. State regulators decided to allow marijuana delivery services in areas of Oregon where licensed marijuana activity is prohibited. This program was updated on December 28th, 2018 after the Oregon Liquor Control Commission approved the updated rules.
Not all marijuana dispensaries and retailers deliver to your door. These are the daily product limits for marijuana deliveries:
According to the OLCC requirements and Measure 91, Oregon’s licensed marijuana retailers and dispensaries can open as early as 7 a.m. and close as late as 10 p.m. Customers must be at least 21 years old to be served by retailers during this time period. Local governments may choose to further restrict legal operating hours.
Licensed retailers and dispensaries have been allowed to sell the following quantities of marijuana products since October 1, 2015.
The following cannabis products are available to medical marijuana patients and caregivers in larger quantities:
Telemedicine allows doctors to examine patients who don’t need to be seen in person to determine their eligibility for medical marijuana. Notably, the certification requires a handwritten signature. Telemedicine practitioners must follow Oregon telemedicine regulations.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors in Oregon can be contacted in person or electronically. Allowing OR residents to apply for medical marijuana online.