Step 1: Make an appointment with a doctor who’s been approved.
Step 2: Acquire a doctor’s recommendation.
Step 3: File an application via the New York Patient Registration System.
Step 4: Collect your certification and begin your shopping!
Now is the time to take a photocopy of your New York state ID, along with a letter from your doctor, and apply online through the New York Patient Registration System. If necessary, you will also submit $50 for the application fee here.
To register, all patients must have the following documentation:
Minors may become cannabis patients in New York if they have written permission from their parent/guardian.
In New York, MMJ patients can designate up to two caregivers. Your caregiver must complete the same application process as you. They are only allowed to assist a maximum of five patients in obtaining, possessing, and administering MMJ. Caregivers may also possess up to a 30-day supply on behalf of a patient.
To be eligible for a medical marijuana card in New York, you must be:
Minors are permitted in New York’s medical marijuana program; however, a parent or guardian must register on the minor’s behalf. This means that the adult is in charge of all cannabis purchases and decisions.
At the moment, marijuana products are only available in “non-smokable” forms. These are some examples:
This means you can’t smoke cannabis flower or buy edibles from a licensed dispensary.
After submitting your application, you will receive an email confirming your acceptance or denial within a few days. If you are approved, you will be given a temporary medical card that you can use to make purchases. Your physical card will arrive in the mail seven business days after you have been approved, and you will be able to begin purchasing.
The qualifying medical conditions to receive your MMJ card in the Big Apple are:
The severe debilitating or life-threatening condition must also be accompanied by one or more of the following associated or complicating conditions:
No. The New York MMJ program does not permit home cultivation. If you are caught cultivating marijuana in any amount, you will face a misdemeanor charge. It carries a maximum penalty of one year in prison and a $1,000 fine.
The application fee for a medical marijuana card is $50 once you have received your MMJ certification from a qualified physician. The application fee is non-refundable. The DOH has, however, waived the fee as of the time of writing. You will also be charged for the initial physician consultation, which can range between $99 and $299. There are online services that provide a comprehensive service for around $139.
With a valid MMJ card, purchasing medical marijuana is simple, and dispensaries can be found throughout the state.
To legally purchase marijuana products, you can go to any of the 10 registered retail New York dispensaries. To buy marijuana, you must be a state-registered medical marijuana patient with a doctor’s recommendation. Bring a valid driver’s license or state-issued identification card to prove your age, name, and other information when purchasing marijuana. Whether you are a patient or an assigned caregiver, you must also bring your medical marijuana card with you.
Caregivers have the authority to purchase marijuana on behalf of a patient they represent. To become a caregiver, you must be at least 21 years old.
Marijuana delivery services are currently available in Albany, Queens, Rochester, and Brooklyn. Because marijuana laws vary by municipality, not every city in New York will allow marijuana deliveries. At this time, only registered medical patients and/or designated caregivers are eligible to receive medical marijuana deliveries. Vireo Health and Columbia Care are two dispensaries in New York that provide marijuana delivery services.
In the state of New York, licensed dispensaries and shops must adhere to specific operating hours. Medical marijuana dispensaries and retailers in New York can open as early as 8 a.m. and stay open as late as 10 p.m.
Medical marijuana patients and caregivers are permitted to purchase up to 4 ounces of marijuana or marijuana-related products every 30 days. Patients are not permitted to consume more than 4 ounces of marijuana per month unless approved by two independent physicians. However, 4 ounces per month is quite generous, and we don’t see these rules limiting patients’ ability to purchase marijuana products.
If a patient does not require an in-person appointment, a physician can conduct a telemedicine exam to determine whether the patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification requires a handwritten signature. Telemedicine physicians in Missouri must follow Missouri’s existing telemedicine regulations.