Step 1: Consult with your approved physician, either online or in person.
Step 2: Fill out an online application through the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (MPP)
Step 3: Await approval.
Step 4: Pay the fees
Step 5: Get your card and go shopping!
First, ensure that you have a working relationship with an MMP-approved physician. In New Jersey, this type of doctor-patient relationship must have lasted at least a year. For the qualifying condition, the number of visits must be at least four.
You can find a list of MMP-approved doctors on the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program website.
Minors may become cannabis patients in New Jersey if they have written permission from their parent/guardian.
Following receipt of your documentation and application, the program will evaluate and respond via email. If you are accepted, you will receive an email with instructions on how to pay your card fees.
To qualify for an MMJ card in New Jersey:
A New Jersey medical marijuana card lasts 24 months (2 years).
Your New Jersey MMJ card should arrive in your mailbox within 7-10 business days. You are now ready to begin purchasing legal, medical cannabis in your area.
In New Jersey, there are 11 licensed dispensaries:
New Jersey approves MMJ cards for these severe medical conditions:
No, MMJ cardholders in New Jersey are not currently permitted to cultivate marijuana at home.
For a patient or caregiver, the program fee is $100. If you are a military veteran or a senior citizen, you may be eligible for a $20 discount. If you qualify for a state or federal assistance program, the reduction may also apply to you. Although the initial consultation may cost between $250 and $300.
No, insurance companies typically do not cover medical marijuana or related expenses.
Medical marijuana dispensaries in New Jersey are known as “Alternative Treatment Centers,” or “ATCs.” New Jersey is strict in allowing only the most desperate medical patients to obtain marijuana.
During the pandemic, the state of New Jersey permitted ATCs to deliver marijuana to patients in order to keep them at home. Only ATC employees who have signed a state waiver are permitted to deliver marijuana. Each delivery car is outfitted with a GPS tracking system and a lockbox, preventing it from deviating from its route.
There are no laws requiring medical marijuana dispensaries to limit their store hours. There are numerous store hours throughout New Jersey that each ATC can determine on its own. The majority of them have decided to close their doors at 6:00 p.m.
It is up to the doctor in New Jersey to determine how much marijuana can be purchased for medical patients. New Jersey also imposed a 3-ounce limit per 30-day period.
If a patient does not require an in-person appointment, a physician can conduct a telemedicine exam to determine whether the patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification requires a handwritten signature. Telemedicine physicians in New Jersey must follow the state’s existing telemedicine regulations.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors in New Jersey are available for both in-person and virtual visits. Allowing residents of New Jersey to apply for medical marijuana from the comfort of their own homes.
New Jersey does not have recreational marijuana at the time.