Step 1 – Consult with your primary care physician and have yourself evaluated.
Step 2 – Obtain a physician’s certification.
Step 3 – Apply to NH’s Therapeutic Cannabis Program
Step 4 – Submit your documentation and your card will be mailed directly to you.
One of the most important factors to consider when applying for your New Hampshire MMJ card is whether your primary care physician is qualified to certify you for medical marijuana use. This is due to the fact that in New Hampshire, you must have a genuine relationship with the doctor who evaluates your eligibility for medical cannabis. A “true” relationship lasts at least three months.
If your doctor is qualified, he or she will assess your suitability for medical cannabis use.
If you are eligible for an MMJ card, your doctor will complete a Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis, which you will need to submit with your application.
The following elements must be included in applications:
At any time, a patient can choose a caregiver. The designated caregiver must be over the age of 21 and have never been convicted of a felony. To be approved by the TCP, they must submit an application and pass a background check. Before assisting the patient, the caregiver must present a Caregiver Registry ID card.
Minors can become cannabis patients in New Hampshire if they have written permission from their parents or guardians. A cultivation ID card cannot be obtained by a minor.
To be eligible for a medical card in New Hampshire:
In New Hampshire, minors can also obtain medical marijuana. However, an application must be submitted by a parent or guardian.
In addition to your physician’s certification, you must submit a photocopy of your New Hampshire state ID to prove your residency and identification. Then you’ll pay a $50 one-time registration fee and you’ll be good to go. Your NH MMJ card will be mailed to you five business days after you have been approved.
The MMJ card has a one-year expiration date. You must renew it ahead of time by completing the necessary paperwork.
The list of qualifying conditions for medical cannabis in New Hampshire is quite long. The conditions are as follows:
In New Hampshire, “qualifying medical condition” also refers to moderate to severe chronic pain.
At the moment, home cultivation is not permitted. The NH Senate, on the other hand, passed SB 420 in February 2020. This allows MMJ patients or their caregivers to cultivate cannabis in the privacy of their own home. The bill allows for a maximum of three mature plants, three immature plants, and 12 seedlings. SB 420 must first pass the House before becoming law.
Aside from the non-refundable $50 application fee, there is a $25 fee for lost valid cards and a $50 fee for renewal. A $150 fine may be imposed for failing to notify the Program of a name or address change.
This is followed by a $75 follow-up visit, which is usually scheduled every 3-6 months. It is, however, at the discretion of the doctor. You cannot pay using a debit or credit card, in keeping with the Program’s antiquated nature. Instead, send a check or money order to the Treasurer’s address, which we previously listed.
No, medical marijuana or related expenses are not typically covered by insurance companies.
There aren’t many dispensaries in New Hampshire because marijuana is only legal under the Therapeutic Cannabis Program. If you are a participant in the Program, there are currently only five dispensaries (officially known as Alternative Treatment Centers) in the state where you can purchase medical marijuana.
When you apply to become a Therapeutic Cannabis Program patient, you must choose which Alternative Treatment Center (ATC) you will purchase from. Dover, Merrimack, Conway, Plymouth, and Lebanon all have available ATCs. While they all have online ordering, delivery is not currently an option – either a registered caregiver or a patient must pick up products in person at their designated ATC.
Marijuana delivery services are currently unavailable due to the limited nature of New Hampshire’s current medical marijuana laws and the strict control imposed by the state.
The hours and days of operation for each of the five stores vary. These dates and times are subject to change, particularly during Covid-19 and ongoing lockdown initiatives.
Plymouth: Tuesday – Saturday: 11:00 – 7:00pm; Sunday: 12:00 – 4:00pm
Conway: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday: 11:00 – 7:00pm
Dover: Monday, Wednesday – Friday: 11:00 – 5:30pm; Saturday: 10:00 – 2:00pm
Lebanon: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 11:00 – 5:30pm; Saturday: 10:00 – 5:00pm
Merrimack: Monday – Saturday: 10:00 – 5:00pm (7:00 on Wednesday)
Patients participating in the Therapeutic Cannabis Program (or their registered caregivers) can purchase up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis over the course of 10 days. There are currently no cannabis-specific restrictions (i.e., concentrates vs. flower).
Assume a patient does not require an in-person appointment. In that case, a physician can administer a telemedicine exam to ascertain whether patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification necessitates a written by hand signature. Telemedicine physicians in New Hampshire must follow the state’s existing telemedicine regulations.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors in New Hampshire are available for both in-person and virtual visits. NH residents will be able to apply for medical marijuana from the comfort of their own homes.
Negative consequences from cannabis consumption include dry mouth and red eyes. Red and dry eyes
Being too nervous about learning how to smoke pot might be humiliating. You may wish