Step 1– Consult with a licensed physician and have yourself evaluated.
Step 2 – Obtain your certification and submit an application to the Maine Medical Marijuana Use Program (MMMP).
Step 3 -Pay the fees and receive your Maine MMJ card!
Step 4 – Begin looking for and purchasing your medical marijuana.
In Maine, you must first consult with a licensed physician. This doctor will examine you and determine whether you have one of the qualifying conditions for receiving your MMJ card. The licensed physician will then write you a recommendation for medical marijuana.
During the consultation, the doctor will review your medical records and ask you a few questions. The task is to identify whether you are a viable candidate for MMJ.
The following items must be brought to the physician’s office for your initial MMJ consultation:
Most people use their Maine driver’s license as proof of residency.
This is a valid form of payment for the cost of the physician appointment as well as the application fee. (The majority of Maine marijuana doctors take cash as well as major debit/credit cards.)
Files of your medical records are available upon request. You must bring copies of your medical records demonstrating a diagnosis of one of the qualifying conditions.
A parent or legal guardian of a minor may also apply to be a caregiver. However, approval requires a second viewpoint from another certified physician.
Maine medical marijuana patients may also name a primary caregiver. The caregiver may assist the patient in the purchase or harvesting of medical marijuana, as well as in the administration of treatment.
Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and have never been convicted of a drug offense. Caregivers, unlike adult patients, must register with the state and obtain an ID card unless they live in the same household as the patient or are a family member.
Caregivers are only allowed to serve a maximum of five patients at a time.
To obtain a medical card in Maine, you must be 18 years old or older, have a qualifying medical condition, and be a Maine resident. Minors under the age of 18 who have a qualifying condition can obtain a medical card with parents consent. The legal guardian has to go through the process of caring for the minor.
Concentrates Vape cartridges
Infused edibles, including THC beverages
All you have to do now is wait after you’ve compensated your fees! Be patient; it typically takes 7-10 days after approval to receive your card. Your MMJ card will be mailed to you soon, and you will be able to buy medical cannabis in Maine.
Here are a few to get you started:
A medical marijuana card in Maine is valid for a year (1 year).
Maine considers the following medical conditions to be appropriate for medical cannabis use:
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Consistent seizures or muscle spasms
You are permitted to grow up to six cannabis plants in your personal home. However, if you rent, consult with your property owner before attempting to grow. Please also read the State Laws regarding the Maine Medical Marijuana Program. You can find it on the Maine Department of Health and Human Services website.
There is a $100 application fee. A physician consultation will also cost you between $199 and $300. Your Maine MMJ card is valid for one year to the date of issuance. You (or your caregiver) must consult the issuing physician’s office at least 30 days before the card’s expiration to request a renewal.
No, medical marijuana or related expenses are typically not covered by insurance companies.
Patients who require medical marijuana can easily obtain it from a licensed dispensary.
There are several dispensaries open in Maine for those looking to buy adult-use marijuana. Adults must be at least 21 years old. Patients with a valid Maine medical marijuana card can purchase cannabis from a medical dispensary.
Medical marijuana users can order marijuana from a dispensary and have it delivered to their home. The majority of dispensaries in Bangor, Portland, and Augusta offer both delivery and curbside pickup. For the time being, recreational marijuana cannot be delivered.
There are no time constraints on when stores can open. Most dispensaries are open from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Before you go, make sure to check the store hours!
Both medical and recreational marijuana users are permitted to purchase 2.5 ounces of flower or 2.5 ounces of flower and concentrate with a maximum concentration of 5 grams. Furthermore, unless permitted by their caregiver or medical doctor, medical users are limited to acquiring no more than 5 ounces per month.
Assume a patient does not require an in-person appointment. In that case, a physician can administer a telemedicine exam to determine whether the patient is eligible for medical marijuana use. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification requires a handwritten signature. Telemedicine physicians in Maine must follow Maine’s existing telemedicine regulations.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors are available in Maine for both in-person and virtual visits. ME residents will be able to qualify for medical marijuana from the patient’s home.