Step 1 – Consult with a competent physician and be evaluated.
Step 2 – Wait to hear from the Office of Medical Marijuana Use OMMU
Step 3 – Fill out an application and send it to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR)
Step 4 – Pay your costs and pick up your card!
Meeting with an authorized physician is the initial step in obtaining a Registry Identification Card. A list of these doctors may be found on the Florida Department of Health’s website. This physician will next assess you to determine whether you have at least one of the qualifying criteria required by the program.
If you are qualified, your doctor will submit your information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR).
You must wait until you hear from the Office of Medical Marijuana Use after your doctor submits your paperwork. The OMMU will eventually contact you, giving you a Patient ID number and directing you to submit your Registry Card application to the MMUR.
You have the option of submitting your application online or via mail. It is all up to you!
Patient Registry Process
When registering for the registry, patients may select a caregiver. Caregivers with a valid registration ID card may buy cannabis on behalf of their patients and help with medication administration.
Caregivers must be at least 21 years old, not be a qualified physician, and have no financial stake in a MMTC. Patients may only choose one caregiver at a time. Patients under the age of 18 must appoint an adult caregiver or another legal representation to help them with their medicinal cannabis usage.
Caregiver Registry Process
ID cards are valid for one year after they are approved.
Minors are eligible to apply for Registry Identification Cards provided they have a competent caregiver and two medical references.
If you want to obtain a medical card in Florida, you must first:
The application cost for your medical card is $75, which must be paid together with the application. After you pay for this, you will get an email confirming your next actions. You may visit one of the state’s MMTCs with permission until your card arrives in the mail. You are free to shop as you want after you get the actual copy.
The following are Florida’s qualifying criteria for medicinal cannabis:
It is against the law for patients or caregivers to grow marijuana.
Applicants in Florida must pay two fees when applying for a medicinal marijuana card:
Additionally, full-face, passport-style color photographs are required, which may incur an additional small fee. The cost of meeting with a qualified physician varies, but it is usually around $150.
The MMJ card must be renewed annually. This procedure necessitates paying your doctor’s consultation fees as well as the $75 registration fee once more. The renewal process should be completed 45 days before the expiration date.
No, medicinal marijuana or associated costs are usually not covered by insurance providers.
With the growth of the medicinal marijuana program, an increasing number of medical dispensaries have sprung up throughout the state. Their medicinal dispensaries are the only places where you may legally buy marijuana. Any other kind of marijuana is absolutely prohibited. Medical marijuana delivery is allowed in Florida, but it must come from a registered medical dispensary.
Only individuals with a valid Florida medical marijuana card are permitted to shop at dispensaries. Recreational marijuana is still illegal, and purchasing any sort of recreational marijuana can land you in severe problems. Those with medical cards, on the other hand, have it much easier when it comes to buying marijuana. To access dispensaries, one must have a valid medicinal marijuana card and ID. Keep our card with you at all times if you are in possession of marijuana.
In the state of Florida, medical marijuana delivery services are allowed. Only approved medical marijuana shops are permitted to distribute marijuana to their clients. Outside parties, on the other hand, are not permitted to do the delivery. An employee who distributes must have extra registration and must always use a GPS tracker. When delivering medical marijuana items, the goods must be kept in the trunk in a lockable container so that only the delivery guy has access to them.
There are no restrictions on the hours of operation for medical marijuana shops. As a result, dispensaries offer a variety of shop hours to better suit the requirements of their customers. However, as usual, check your preferred dispensary’s website for shop hours!
Doctors collaborate extensively with medicinal marijuana patients to find the optimum dose for each individual. As a result, there is no set buying restriction; rather, each purchasing limit is set by the doctor and the particular patient. Patients have a lot of influence over how much marijuana they should take, so don’t be hesitant to share your thoughts with your doctor. Once a proper dose has been established, a patient may buy a 70-day supply of marijuana. One cannot buy the whole 70-day supply all at once, but one cannot go beyond the 70-day supply in the present period. A doctor, on the other hand, is not permitted to prescribe more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 35 days, implying that patients are not permitted to possess more than 4 ounces of marijuana.
If a patient does not need an in-person visit, a physician may perform a telemedicine assessment to establish if the patient is eligible for medicinal marijuana usage. Physicians should be aware, however, that the certification needs a handwritten signature. Telemedicine doctors in Florida must follow current telemedicine rules.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors are accessible in Florida for both in-person and virtual appointments. Making it possible for Floridians to qualify for medicinal marijuana from the comfort of their own homes.