Step 1- Meet with your approved physician; online or in-person
Step 2– Apply online through the California Medical Marijuana Program (CMMP)
Step 3– Pay the fees and wait for approval
Step 4– Receive your card and start shopping!
To get a Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) in California, you must first see a physician. This doctor will assess you for at least one of the medical problems mentioned above.
If authorized, your doctor will write a medical prescription indicating that medicinal cannabis may treat your qualifying condition.
Once you get your physician referral, go to your nearest county program to apply for your MMIC. To apply, you will need evidence of identification and residence.
Your card’s costs will vary based on your location and medical needs, but will never exceed $100. In 30 days, the state will either approve or reject your application. Finally, if authorized, your card will be available to use in five days. That’s it!
To acquire or use medicinal cannabis, patients must select a main caregiver. A main caregiver must be 18 years old and regularly responsible for the patient’s housing, health, and safety. Someone who owns, operates, or works for a clinic, facility, hospice, or home health service.
A main caregiver cannot apply for an MMIC. The patient must apply. The caregiver registration is valid for the same period as the patient’s MMIC. Counties have different fees.
A primary caregiver cannot apply for a Medical Marijuana Identification Card. The patient must apply for the designated caregiver. Caregiver registration is valid for the same duration as the patient’s Medical Marijuana Identification Card. The required fee varies by county.
Those who are 18 years old or older, live in California, and have at least one qualifying medical condition may apply for a medical marijuana card.
Under specific conditions, minors under 18 may acquire a medical card in California. Minors who are emancipated or self-sufficient may apply as eligible patients. Those with parental figures or guardians may apply with their caretaker. They will make the ultimate decision on medicinal cannabis.
You will get a 7-character ID number after obtaining the referral letter. Purchase marijuana from a registered dispensary with the recommendation. You must submit basic medical, ID, and residence information. But you may register and get a suggestion in 10 minutes!
A medical card in California is required if you have one of the following conditions:
Having this card in California enables you to cultivate up to 99 plants for personal use! But be cautious since the legislation may change at any moment. Also, check your local laws to see what you may grow. Finally, the grower’s suggestion is NOT a “get out of jail free” card. It just protects you from expanding too much. You can’t even sell it without a license! If in doubt, grow inside, ideally out of sight. No one wants to hear about your hundreds of marijuana plants blooming in your basement. However, we highly encourage you to research your local laws.
Holders of MMJ cards may carry up to eight ounces of dried marijuana (check your county). Six mature plants may be grown from a maximum of 12 immature plants.
California medicinal marijuana card assessment costs vary. Please check with your telemedicine provider or certified physician for a reasonable pricing.
No, insurance companies typically do not cover medical marijuana or related expenses.
Growing and selling marijuana in the state became legal in 2018. Adults over the age of 21 may purchase non-medical marijuana starting January 1st, 2018. The state-wide legalization does not preclude local governments from regulating marijuana sales. Only roughly a third of California communities now allow marijuana sales (although this may soon change with Assembly Bill 1356).
The legal age for purchasing recreational marijuana is 21 between the hours of 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM (PST). The age limit for medical dispensaries is 18 to 21. Anyone entering a marijuana retail store must provide a valid picture ID. You may purchase up to 1 ounce (28.4 grams) of cannabis flower each day at a dispensary. Limit of 8 grams per day for purchasing cannabis concentrates.
Trying to locate a local dispensary may be difficult due to city-specific regulations. It is now simpler than ever to locate a recreational marijuana shop with the assistance of internet search directories.
California law allows retail marijuana shops to open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m Local governments may also decrease operation hours, thus cities can opt to do so. So a dispensary on one side of town may have completely different hours than a store a few miles down the road. You may avoid traveling across town to a closed shop by looking up the hours online.
Medicinal and recreational marijuana may be delivered by both independent delivery companies and shops operating under the same name. Users of marijuana delivery services in California, like retail customers, must provide proper photo ID. Marijuana cannot be supplied to a customer who is in a public park or a youth facility (no schools or daycares). You may only get 1 ounce of marijuana flower or 8 grams of marijuana concentrate each day.
If a patient cannot make an in-person visit, a physician may perform a telemedicine exam to establish eligibility for medicinal marijuana. Note that the certification needs a handwritten signature. Telemedicine doctors in California must follow current telemedicine rules.
Yes, Medical Marijuana Doctors in California are accessible in person and online. Allowing Californians to apply for medicinal marijuana online.
Look no further, see one of our compassionate medical marijuana physicians and get your medical card today from home.